“If at first you don’t succeed,” a poem on failure by Unknown….

Failure doesn’t mean – “You are a failure,”
It means – You have not succeeded.

Failure doesn’t mean – “You accomplished nothing,”
It means – You have learned something.

Failure doesn’t mean – “You have been a fool,”
It means – You had a lot of faith.

Failure doesn’t mean – “You don’t have it,”
It means – You were willing to try.

Failure doesn’t mean – “You are inferior,”
It means – You are not perfect.

Failure doesn’t mean – “You’ve wasted your life,”
It means – You have a reason to start afresh.

Failure doesn’t mean – “You should give up,”
It means – “You must try harder.

Failure doesn’t mean – “You’ll never make it,”
It means – It will take a little longer.

Failure doesn’t mean – “God has abandoned you,”
It means – God has a better way for you.

Ecclesiastes

6 Responses

  1. A BURIAL
    Ella Wheeler Wilcox

    Today I had a burial of my dead.
    There was no shroud, no coffin, and no pall,
    No prayers were uttered and no tears were shed
    I only turned a picture to the wall.

    A picture that had hung within my room
    For years and years; a relic of my youth.
    It kept the rose of love in constant bloom
    To see those eyes of earnestness and truth.

    At hours wherein no other dared intrude,
    I had drawn comfort from its smiling grace.
    Silent companion of my solitude,
    My soul held sweet communion with that face.

    I lived again the dream so bright, so brief,
    Though wakened as we all are by some Fate;
    This picture gave me infinite relief,
    And did not leave me wholly desolate.

    To-day I saw an item, quite by chance,
    That robbed me of my pitiful poor dole:
    A marriage notice fell beneath my glance,
    And I became a lonely widowed soul.

    With drooping eyes, and cheeks a burning flame,
    I turned the picture to the blank wall’s gloom.
    My very heart had died in me of shame,
    If I had left it smiling in my room.

    Another woman’s husband. So, my friend,
    My comfort, my sole relic of the past,
    I bury thee, and, lonely, seek the end.
    Swift age has swept my youth from me at last.

  2. When we two are parted
    a poem by Lord Byron

    When we two parted
    In silence and tears,
    Half broken-hearted,
    To sever for years,
    Pale grew thy cheek and cold,
    Colder thy kiss;
    Truly that hour foretold
    Sorrow to this.

    The dew of the morning
    Sank chill on my brow
    It felt like the warning
    Of what I feel now.
    Thy vows are all broken,
    And light is thy fame:
    I hear thy name spoken,
    And share in its shame.

    They name thee before me,
    A knell to mine ear;
    A shudder comes o’er me
    Why wert thou so dear?
    They know not I knew thee,
    Who knew thee too well:
    Long, long shall I rue thee
    Too deeply to tell.

    In secret we met
    In silence I grieve
    That thy heart could forget,
    Thy spirit deceive.
    If I should meet thee
    After long years,
    How should I greet thee?
    With silence and tears.

  3. really great poems..
    just flunked my first course in college today
    despite all the efforts
    hope God has a better something for me

    ur second poem really made me think
    of the people I love
    and their meanings to me

    thanks

  4. Hi there, cool site, just want to ask you what comment blocker system you use for filtering out junk websites because I get tons on my website.

  5. More on the benefits of failure at http://growingupwell.org/2010/04/08/our-friend-failure/

Leave a Reply

